Scenes of Horror: Baroque Arias From the Shadows

63,99 zł


Polityka prywatności


Zasady dostawy


Zasady reklamacji

Barokowa Muzyka Klasyczna / Arias
premiera polska:
opakowanie: Digipackowe etui

Editor's info:
Laila Salome Fischers debut album recorded in the splendid acoustics of the Johann Sebastian Bach Saal in Koethen.
Baroque opera librettists seem to have found an impish satisfaction in thoroughly putting the heroes of their stories through the wringer before they meet their more or less glorious end or, with a bit of luck, live to celebrate the opera's happy ending. The creativity with which they maneuver their own characters into horrifying scenarios knows no bounds. Popular subjects include fighting terrible monsters, marching into seemingly hopeless battles, various forms of murder, intricate entanglements that can only lead to disaster, lifelong imprisonment, the occasional suicide... and, of course, the full Baroque-opera bounty of creative death sentences. Our poor heroes and heroines are alternately thrown to the lions (e.g. Salustia), burnt at the stake (e.g. Croesus), set adrift in the middle of the Mediterranean on a boat with no sails (e.g. Poppea), beheaded (e.g. Tito Manlio) and so on...
These scenes of horror are not only thrilling and sundry from a literary standpoint - their musical compositions are equally so.
Fear and trembling are never, but never presented in a single, monotonous tone color! Our characters often go through an emotional rollercoaster: from deepest despair to sorrow and anger, from flight to fight, from love and longing to sheer insanity. Truly, a painters box full of affects, inviting composers to go wild with musical expression. "Scenes of Horror" is a baroque cabinet of grotesqueries featuring music by Georg Friedrich Handel, Attilio Ariosti, Antonio Vivaldi and Carl Heinrich Graun. As you may imagine, the Baroque librettists were not the only ones who derived sadistic pleasure from seeing their characters suffer. We also found a devilish delight in sending Laila Salome Fischer through this program's series of nightmares.

De Volkskrant, 25-1-2024
"There is a lot of refinement in the Il Giratempo ensemble. Hear the bass explode in an instrumental piece of Handel. In Vivaldi's well-known concerto La notte, recorder player Max Volbers paints the ominous night while pulling all the stops."

Laila Salome Fischer (mezzosopranovoice)
Il Giratempo:
Mayumi Hirasaki, Antonio de Sarlo, Zsuzsanna Czentnár, Adrian Cygan, Sophia Scheifler, Justyna Skatulnik, Dóra Szilágyi, Annette Hartmann, Priscilla Rodriguez Cabaleiro, Lorena Padrón Ortiz, Cornelia Osterwald, Vanessa Heinisch, Makiko Kurabayashi
Max Volbers: direction

01. Georg Friedrich Händel: Scenes of Horror, Scenes of Woe from Jephta 04:10
02. Georg Friedrich Händel: 1. Allegro from Sinfonia from L´Olimpiade 02:03
03. Antonio Vivaldi: 2 Andante from Sinfonia from L´Olimpiade 02:17
04. Antonio Vivaldi: Allegro from Sinfonia from L´Olimpiade 01:10
05. Georg Friedrich Händel: Scherza infida in grembo al drudo from Ariodante 08:58
06. Carl Heinrich Graun: Recit Qual orribil destino from MOntezuma 04:59
07. Carl Heinrich Graun: Aria Ah, d'inflessibil sorte from Montezuma 02:13
08. Carl Heinrich Graun: Recit Ma qual rumore from Montezuma 00:47
09. Carl Heinrich Graun: Aria Sì, corona, i tuoi trofei from Montezuma 03:02
10. Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto 'La Notte' G minor RV 439: Largo 02:00
11. Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto 'La Notte' G minor RV 439: Fantasmi (Presto – Largo) 01:50
12. Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto 'La Notte' G minor RV 439: Presto 01:02
13. Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto 'La Notte' G minor RV 439: Il Sonno (Largo) 01:43
14. Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto 'La Notte' G minor RV 439: Allegro 01:57
15. Attilio Ariosti: Questi ceppi, e quest' orrore from La fede ne' tradimenti 05:56
16. Georg Friedrich Händel: Sta nell'Ircana from Alcina 05:55
17. Georg Friedrich Händel: Recitativo accompagnato Where shall I fly from Hercules 06:48

wydano: 09 February 2024
more info:



Perfect Noise
Attilio Malachia Ariosti (1666-c.1729), Carl Heinrich Graun (1703-59), G.F.Handel (1685-1759), Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
Laila Salome Fischer, Il Giratempo, Max Volbers
Scenes of Horror: Baroque Arias From the Shadows
Data premiery
chat Komentarze (0)
Na razie nie dodano żadnej recenzji.