Telling What is Told - Shakespeare Songs

63,99 zł


Polityka prywatności


Zasady dostawy


Zasady reklamacji

Klasyczna Muzyka Wokalna
premiera polska:
kontynent: Europa
kraj: Norwegia
opakowanie: plastikowe etui
Editor's Info:
A cappella Shakespeare songs
A boundless delight in song pervades William Shakespeare's entire ouvre of thirty-seven plays and one hundred and fifty-four sonnets. One might even feel that his writing is music. The Norwegian Soloists' Choir, highly praised for previous releases, now release an entire album with music written to the texts of Shakespeare.
The Scandinavian choral tradition is strong and exiting. Within such an environment new repertoire will prosper as the composers are given performers who inspire them to develop. Save Martin, all the composers on this disc are part of this Scandinavian modern choral community.
Telling what is told...
The title of the album is of course a Shakespeare quote, reflecting the fact that the texts these composers have written music to are well known parts of Western cultural history. When in addressing these universal texts yet again, allowing himself to colour them with his own music, each composer makes a unique interpretation of these famous lyrics.
Singing of another place
The person who wrote these texts has left a country existence in favour of a life in the boisterous city, in drawing-rooms, or at his desk. Maybe the encounter between a highly sensitive artist's mind and the over-populated, modern metropolis of London, created the great song-writer Shakespeare? In his songs, Shakespeare sings of another place, the place where he grew up and experienced his first love, the meadows and the woods surrounding the village of Stratford.
The Norwegian Soloists' Choir
Established in 1950, its first conductor Knut Nystedt, the choir has given over two hundred premier performances of which over seventy have been of works by Norwegian composers. Since 1990 the choir has sung under the leadership of Grete Pedersen, internationally acclaimed for her stylistically assured and musically convincing performances. Through a great number of concerts in Norway and abroad, recordings for radio and television, and CD recordings, she has become one of the most noted and sought-after conductors in the Nordic countries.

The Norwegian Soloists' Choir
Grete Pedersen - conductor
Hans-Kristian Kjos Sorensen - marimba

1. Sonnet No. 76
2. Shall I Compare Thee To A Summer's Day? (Sonnet No. 18)
3. Francies I, Sylvia
4. Francies Ii, Under The Greenwood Tree
5. Francies Iii, Blow, Blow, Thou Winter Wind
6. Francies Iv, Fancy
7. Francies V, O Mistress Mine
8. Francies Vi, Lovers Love The Spring
9. Francies Vii, Winter
10. Francies Viii, Dirge
11. Francies Ix, Hark! Hark! The Lark
12. Songs Of Ariel From Shakespeare's Tempest I, Act 1, Sc. Ii
13. Songs Of Ariel From Shakespeare's Tempest Ii, Act 2, Sc. Ii
14. Songs Of Ariel From Shakespeare's Tempest Iii, Act 4, Sc. Iii
15. Songs Of Ariel From Shakespeare's Tempest Iv, Act 3, Sc. Iii
16. Songs Of Ariel From Shakespeare's Tempest V, Act 5, Sc. I
17. Sonnet No. 33
18. Come Away, Death
19. ...Nennsomt Spinner... Those Hours That With Gentle Work Did Frame (Sonnet No. 5)

wydano: 2006
more info:


Simax Classics (NO)
The Norwegian Soloists' Choir / Grete Pedersen / Hans-Kristian Kjos Sorensen
Telling What is Told [Antologia]
chat Komentarze (0)
Na razie nie dodano żadnej recenzji.