Nino Gvetadze: The Muse - Johannes Brahms

63,99 zł


Polityka prywatności


Zasady dostawy


Zasady reklamacji

Klasyczna Muzyka Fortepianowa / Piano Solos
premiera polska:
opakowanie: Jewelcaseowe etui

Editor's info:
The year 1860 represented a turning-point in Brahms's life: he issued a 'Manifesto' in which he distanced himself from the Romanticism of the 'New German School' epitomised by Liszt and their association with Wagner's music-dramas. This aesthetic change of heart placed an emphasis on hard work and craftsmanship rather than the more Romantic conception of inspiration, with Brahms taking a particular pride in being both German and a self-made man. This ethos is reflected in the Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Handel, Op. 24. Brahms's two Rhapsodies, Op. 79 were composed in 1879 and were dedicated to his friend Elisabet von Herzogenberg. The title may lull the listener into a false sense of whimsy, when in reality these pieces are founded on clear structural designs. Three Intermezzos Op. 117: Brahms wrote of these three Intermezzos to his friend Rudolf von der Leyen, describing them as 'Wiegenlieder meiner Schmerzen': 'lullabies of my sorrow'. Each has the character of a soliloquy or introspective personal reflection.

Nino Gvetadze: Through his life, Brahms was influenced by those he admired: the musicians he idolized, and the women with whom he formed powerful bonds. Clara Schumann represented both, and Nino Gvetadze explores their fascinating dynamic in The Muse. Brahms's Two Rhapsodies Op. 79 were dedicated to Elisabet von Herzogenberg, whose loss he mourned in the Intermezzos Op. 117; and he was inspired by Handel to write a phenomenal set of Variations dedicated to Clara Schumann - whose Op. 21 Romances date from a time that neither she nor Brahms would ever forget."

Gramophone Magazine
The artistry and technique evinced in her Schumann are equally evident here: I particularly enjoyed her Handel Variations, whose narrative arc comes across very strongly, with an emphasis on subtlety rather than power or monumentality, and on the set’s origins in the Baroque.

International Piano
"What Gvetadze presents is Brahms of terrific character and life certainly, but imbued with an almost Mendelssohnian lightness, clarity and delicacy. Gvetadzs avoids any sense of heaviness with playing of Mozartian transparency and pellucid tone."

NRC, 12-12-2023
"Gvetadze always adds a layer of emotion to her playing and admirably draws us deeper into Brahms's inner world. And finally, she cradles him in her arms."

Nino Gvetadze: piano

Brahms: Intermezzi (3), Op. 117
Brahms: Rhapsodies (2), Op. 79
Brahms: Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Handel, Op. 24
Clara Schumann: Romanze in A minor, Op. 21 No. 1

total time - 69:27
wydano: 03 November 2023
more info:



Challenge Classics
Johannes Brahms (1833–97), Clara Schumann (1819–96)
Nino Gvetadze
The Muse - Johannes Brahms
Data premiery
chat Komentarze (0)
Na razie nie dodano żadnej recenzji.