Duke Jordan, Jesper Lundgaard, Billy Hart: When You're Smiling [2CD]

119,99 zł


Polityka prywatności


Zasady dostawy


Zasady reklamacji

Straightahead / Post Bop / Piano Jazz
premiera polska:
kontynent: Ameryka Północna
kraj: USA
opakowanie: Jewelcaseowe etui
Of the many recordings Duke Jordan did for the Steeplechase label while living in Copenhagen as an expatriate, he did two with bassist Jesper Lundgaard and drummer Billy Hart, and they are both included on this double-CD set. Those recordings As Time Goes By and Time on My Hands yield this reissue of 26 selections, which are changed and mixed-up from the original track listings to offer a variance between interpretations of standards and originals written by the leader. Interestingly enough, the 11 sides from 1979 have the trio almost exclusively doing Jordan originals, while the sessions from six years later in 1985 have the same trio doing American Popular Song interpretations. The time gap in between makes one curious about the why's and wherefore's. Also, the 1985 sessions were initially on LP but not CD, making this release somewhat rare. The musicianship, of course, is first rate, as you clearly hear Jordan's sensitive, thoughtful, lyrical, and witty style buoyed by the chattering bass playing of Lundgaard and the snap-crackle drumming of the always masterful Hart. This effort comes recommended to those discovering Jordan, which if you haven't, you shouldn't waste more precious time finding out about this great jazz pianist.
by Michael G. Nastos

Duke Jordan: Piano, Vocals
Jesper Lundgaard: Bass
Billy Hart: Drums

1. Rosetta 5:28
If I Did - Would You? 4:37
3. Time On My Hands 5:41
4. As Times Goes By 6:24
5. Tall Grass 2:50
6. When You're Smiling 1:53
7. Dancer's Call 3:38
8. Orange Mist 3:09
9. All Of Me 8:37
10. I've Never Been In Love Before 1:58
11. I Didn't Know What Time It Was 4:16
1 Easy Living 5:09
13. Jeepers Creepers 6:23

1. In A Mellotone 6:45
2. Lady Dingbat 3:09
3. A Foggy Day In London Town 6:36
4. Answer Me 3:37
5. Layout Blues 4:43
6. Glad I Met Pat 3:38
7. W'utless 2:58
8. As Time Goes By 5:02
9. Jor-Danish 2:43
10. Drawers 4:48
11. Lush Life/ Smoke Gets In Your Eyes 5:32
12. When You're Smiling 3:57
13. Mellow Mood 3:07

wydano: 5th Dec 2013
nagrano: Recorded July 29, 1985. Additional tracks recorded in 1979



Duke Jordan, Jesper Lundgaard, Billy Hart
When You're Smiling [2CD]
Data premiery
chat Komentarze (0)
Na razie nie dodano żadnej recenzji.