Brandee Younger: Brand New Life

61,99 zł


Polityka prywatności


Zasady dostawy


Zasady reklamacji

Modern Jazz / Soul Jazz
premiera polska:
kontynent: Ameryka Północna
kraj: USA
opakowanie: Jewelcaseowe etui

opis wydawcy:
Brandee Younger wydaje swój drugi album w Impulse! Records, „Brand New Life”, 7 kwietnia 2023 r. Younger wprowadziła harfę jako instrument wiodący do jazzu, opierając się na twórczości min. Takich artystek jak Dorothy Ashby. Album jest połączeniem oryginalnych utworów Brandee i wybranych interpretacji kompozycji Ashby. Brandee Younger reprezentuje pokolenie współczesnych muzyków improwizujących, którzy silnie inspirują się amerykańsą popkulturą i hip hopem. Na „Brand New Life” można odnaleźć poszukiwania harmonii, rytmu i melodii, przesiąknięte stylami hip-hopu, rocka i popu.

Editor's Info:
GRAMMY®-nominated harpist and composer Brandee Younger releases her new album, "Brand New Life".
Produced by multi-hyphenate drummer and composer Makaya Mccraven, on Brand New Life, Younger celebrates one of her greatest inspirations, iconic jazz harpist and composer Dorothy Ashby. Ashby is widely credited with having asserted the harp’s place in contemporary music, showcasing the traditionally-classical instrument on groundbreaking albums such as Afro-Harping and Dorothy’s Harp. Her unparalleled body of work has continued to be influential for decades and has been heavily sampled and transposed across jazz, hip-hop, and R&B, by artists including Jay-Z, J. Dilla, Pete Rock and Flying Lotus.
Brand New Life is a stunning amalgamation of past and present, combining original works from Younger, select reinterpretations of Ashby’s work, and previously-unrecorded compositions by Ashby. Younger was initially introduced to Ashby’s work through the many hip-hop artists who sampled her music, and now collaborates with some of those very artists on Brand New Life, including the legendary Pete Rock and 9th Wonder. Brand New Life also includes features by Meshell N’degeocello, Mumu Fresh, and production by drummer and composer Makaya McCraven.
Younger says of the album, “Creating this album has been a longtime dream of mine. I really had a lot of living to do before being able to execute it, genuinely. The finished product is truly representative of where I am now and it is an honor to convey that through the compositions of one of my heroes.”
The first single from the album, “You’re A Girl For One Man Only,” is a composition by Ashby that had never before been recorded, the charts of which were only unearthed through Brandee’s lifelong commitment to Ashby’s history. What may have become a jazz standard of 1960s - had it been recorded at the time of it’s conception - now emerges as timeless as ever and is colored with the vibrance of the 21st Century via Makaya’s trademark cultural synthesizer. The single is accompanied by a visualizer that further immerses listeners in the ethereal world of Brand New Life.
Celebrated as the premier harpist of her generation, Brandee Younger has broken new ground for harpists over the entirety of her career. Younger made history as the first Black female solo artist to be GRAMMY®-nominated for Best Instrumental Composition, for “Beautiful is Black” from her genre-busting 2021 major-label debut album, Somewhere Different. That same year the album also garnered an NAACP Image Award nomination for Outstanding Jazz Album – Instrumental. Along with the release of Brand New Life, Younger will be embarking on a series of headlining shows across the U.S. this spring, and will follow her whirlwind 2023 with a residency as SFJazz’s Resident Artistic Director in early 2024.

Brandee Younger, harp, vocals on track 5
Rashaan Carter, bass
Makaya McCraven, drums
Joel Ross, vibraphone
DeSean Jones, flute
Yuri Popowycz, strings
Mumu Fresh, vocals (track 2)
Pete Rock, drum Programming (track 2)
Linda McNease-Younger, vocals (track 5)
Sharon McNease-Griggs, vocals (track 5)
Meshell Ndegeocello, vocals (track 8)
Junius Paul, bass (track 9)
9th Wonder, drum programming, additional production

1. You're A Girl For One Man Only (3:59)
2. Brand New Life (feat. Mumu Fresh) (4:32)
3. Come Live With Me (Interlude) (2:23)
4. Livin' and Lovin' in My Own Way (feat. Pete Rock)
5. Running Game Intro (1:07)
6. Running Game (4:39)
7. Moving Target (4:21)
8. Dust (feat. Meshell N’degeocello) (4:36)
9. The Windmills of Your Mind (feat. 9th Wonder) (2:56)
10. If It’s Magic (3:30)

wydano: February 23, 2023
more info:



Impulse (USA)
Brandee Younger
Brand New Life
Data premiery
chat Komentarze (0)
Na razie nie dodano żadnej recenzji.