The Carlo G Manuscript - irtuoso liturgical music from the early 17th century

69,99 zł


Polityka prywatności


Zasady dostawy


Zasady reklamacji

Barokowa Muzyka Klasyczna
premiera polska:
kontynent: Europa
opakowanie: digipackowe etui

Editor's info:
Some 15 years ago, the hitherto unknown "Carlo G Manuscript" was purchased at a Vienna jumble sale for the princely sum of 60 euros. Once a doctoral thesis has been prepared based on this document and it had been made available on the internet in the form of scanned images, the manuscript was sold by Sotheby's at auction to an anonymous buyer in 2007, as a consequence of which it has once again disappeared. The fact that the surname of its author had become illegible as a result of a smudge deepens the mystery surrounding the manuscript even further - however, although being from the same time as that of the famous Carlo Gesualdo, everything points to the fact the prince of Venosa was not the composer being searched for... An extensive selection of pieces from the manuscript can now be heard courtesy of the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, performed by the ensemble Profeti della Quinta, and directed by the organist Elam Rotem. These are liturgical pieces dating from the early seventeenth century which undoubtedly would have sounded in Central Italy in a very similar from to what can be heard on this recording: one of the manuscript's peculiar characteristics is that it includes, exactly - note for note - what is expected from the singers and organist. This embraces the complex ornamentations which, by and large, musicians would improvise and wouldn't be written down. The acoustic of the Chiesa dei Santi Eusebio e Vittore de Peglio, Italy provides added authenticity to a project which is entrancing from every angle.

Profeti della Quinta
Elam Rotem

1. Veni dilecte mi 00:06:30
2. Tota pulchra es 00:02:07
3. Amor Jesu dulcissime 00:02:02
4. Alma mater 00:03:23
5. Benché sovra le stelle (Per monache) 00:02:10
6. Ricercar (Biblioteca musicale Laurence K.J. Feinin 00:02:44
7. Sub umbra illius 00:02:25
8. Toccata in D Minor (Chigi MS Q IV 24) 00:01:56
9. Mater Hierusalem 00:02:40
10. Ego flos campi 00:01:53
11. Ego dormio et cor meum vigilat 00:02:54
12. Panis angelicus 00:03:54
13. Toccata in A Minor (Chigi MS Q IV 27) 00:01:32
14. Iste est (Per S. Bernardo) 00:02:28
15. Peccavi super numerum 00:03:00
16. Toccata elevatione (Chigi MS Q IV 29) 00:04:28
17. Miserere 00:04:45
18. Nigra sum 00:02:23
19. Luce gratiae tuae 00:02:30
20. Toccata dell'ottavo tono 00:02:49
21. Deus Dominus meus 00:02:14
22. Canzone (Biblioteca musicale Laurence K.J. Feining 00:01:43
23. Sicut sponsus matris 00:03:20

wydano: 2017-05
more info:



Glossa (SP)
Profeti della Quinta / Elam Rotem
The Carlo G Manuscript - irtuoso liturgical music from the early 17th century
chat Komentarze (0)
Na razie nie dodano żadnej recenzji.