The Balance [Vinyl 1LP]

109,99 zł


Polityka prywatności


Zasady dostawy


Zasady reklamacji

Pianistyka Jazzowa
premiera polska:
opakowanie: Gatefoldowe etui

“There are few musicians in jazz who can make you feel that essentially all is right in the world.” - The Times

"Getting the balance just right has always been Ibrahim’s great strength, drawing from a source but keeping it fresh..." - Julian Cowley, The Wire

* * * * * - The Evening Standard

"A modern master... his graceful playing leans on equal measures of force and restraint, of dense clusters and open space. Mr. Ibrahim’s music is dotted by satisfying, sometimes stunning, passages of repose." - Larry Blumenfeld, Wall Street Journal

Editor's info:
Abdullah Ibrahim (who has also recorded as Dollar Brand) is one of South Africa's most famous musicians. His music is often referred to as representing freedom. His major anti-apartheid anthem 'Mannenberg' (released as 'Capetown Fringe' in the US) thas come to be regarded as an unofficial national anthem in South Africa. He even performed at Nelson Mandela's inauguration, where Mandela referred to him as our Mozart. He's played with everyone from Duke Ellington to Max Roach, John Coltrane to Ornette Coleman, and is the father of underground rapper Jean Grae. Encompassing Township-Jazz, solo piano, Highlife and plentiful modern jazz styles, this brand new studio album (recorded with his band Ekaya at RAK Studios in London,) is a major return for a genuine living Jazz legend.On April 15th 2019 Abdullah will be received into the NEA Jazz Masters fellowship, the highest honour the United States bestows upon jazz musicians.There are few musicians in jazz that can make you feel that all is right in the world like Ibrahim.

Abdullah Ibrahim: piano
Noah Jackson: double bass (tracks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8), cello (tracks 3, 10)
Alec Dankworth : double bass (tracks 3, 10)
Will Terrill: drums
Adam Glasser: harmonica (track 10)
Cleave Guyton Jr.: alto saxophone (tracks 2, 3, 6), flute (track 1, 10), piccolo (track 4, 8)
Lance Bryant: tenor saxophone
Andrae Murchison: trombone
Marshall McDonald: baritone saxophone

A1. Dreamtime 04:05
A2. Nisa 06:36
A3. Jabula 03:43
A4. Tuang Guru 05:10
A5. Tonegawa 03:32
B1. Song For Sathima 04:11
B2. ZB2 02:04
B3. Skippy 05:34
B4. Devotion 02:55
B5. The Balance 03:04

wydano: 2019-04-15
more info:


Gearbox Records
Abdullah Ibrahim
Vinyl 1LP
chat Komentarze (0)
Na razie nie dodano żadnej recenzji.