13 Miniatures For Albert Ayler

66,99 zł


Polityka prywatności


Zasady dostawy


Zasady reklamacji

Avant Jazz / Free Improvisation / Avant-Garde
premiera polska:
opakowanie: digipackowe etui
Ta płyta to zapis wspaniałego koncertu będącego hołdem dla jednego z najwspanialszych muzyków w historii free jazzu - Alberta Aylera. Wystąpiło tam wielu wspaniałych muzyków, Joe McPhee, Steve Dalachinsky, Evan Parker, Jean-Jacques Avenel, Joëlle Léandre, Sylvain Kassap, Ramon Lopez, Jean-Luc Cappozzo, Simon Goubert, Raphaël Imbert, Urs Leimgruber, Didier Levallet, Barre Phillips, Michel Portal, Lucia Recio, Christian Rolet i John Tchicai. Nie jest to jednak zapis całości, ale tylko wybór ułożony jednak z niezwykłą starannością w przejrzystą narracyjnie całość zwięczone niezwykłym 5-cio minutowym utworem na saksofon tenorowy solo. To Joe McPhee, saksofonista-legenda, człowiek o niezłomnym duchu, wspomina tego, który jak sam mówił "Duchem był" ["I'm a Holy Ghost"]. McPhee opowiadał kiedyś o tym, jak Ayler grał na pogrzebie Johna Coltrane'a, jak ważnym było to dla niego doświadczeniem i przeżyciem. I jak później stał u boku Aylera i Ornette'a Colemana nad grobem Coltrane'a. I oto tutaj, po z górą czterdziestu latach wieńczy on hołd dla jednego ze swoich mistrzów - wtedy podjął pieśń którą oni współtworzyli. Cóż, tam gdzie wszystko się kończy, tam też wszystko się zaczyna.
W przypadku tego nagrania nie ma co opisywać poszczególnych utworów - nad wszystkim unosi się duch Aylera. A koniec wieńczy dzieło.

Polish Jazz Recordings and Beyond - ocena * * * *:
A wonderful compilation of various top class free improvisers playing a homage for Albert Ayler (1936-1970), sometimes named "The strongest personality of free jazz", who died prematurely in mysterious circumstances. This is what Jaqueline Caux explains in the text written by Daniel Caux in the first homage if the album. Then starts the astonishing music. The first one is by the fantastic reeds quintet including celebrated French saxophonist, Raphaël Imbert, the Swiss Urs Leimgruber, and the Giants trio: McPhee, Parker, Tchicai. Amazing stu!
The next tune is by the trio with my beloved Jean-Luc and the fantastic Silvain Kassap on clarinet; they are, so to say, driven by the super intense drumming of Christian Rollet. Joëlle bows, and Barre Phillips finger picks, and they both accompany fantastically Steve Dalachinsky reading a beautiful poem about Albert... "My name is saxophone!!!".
The next one is an marvelous drums solo of Ramón López, followed by a truly magisterial blues played by Ram«, Barre and Michel Portal. A masterpiece!
The trio with Jean-Jacques Avanel, Simon Goubert and always incredible Joe McPhee is the next. The re-construct and de-construct the spirit of "Spiritual Unity". Jean-Luc and Joe play then an absolutely incredible trumpet duo. After them comes Evan with a solo statement. Joëlle leads then a trio, in which her bass de fines the rhythmic and harmonic lines for Urs Leimgruber and John Tchicai. Fantastic!. The French clarinet-sax-bass drums quartet of Goubert-Imbert-Kassap-Levallet is also great in particular Didier makes drumming miracle all the time. Joëlle is back with the trio with Urs Leimgruber and a fantastic vocalist, Lucia Recio. Concerning the closing solo statement of Joe McPhee I can only paraphrase again Richard Cook and Brian Morton: if your heart does not break listening to it, you must have a heart of stone!
Autor: Maciej Lewenstein

Editor's info:
A very large excerpt from the tribute to Albert Ayler concert, given at Fondation Cartier, Paris, France on December 2nd 2010 at the occasion of the 40th anniversary of his passing. With: Joe McPhee, Steve Dalachinsky, Evan Parker, Jean-Jacques Avenel, Joëlle Léandre, Sylvain Kassap, Ramon Lopez, Jean-Luc Cappozzo, Simon Goubert, Raphaël Imbert, Urs Leimgruber, Didier Levallet, Barre Phillips, Michel Portal, Lucia Recio, Christian Rollet, John Tchicai.

Would it be that when everything finishes that everything starts? Rather than a postlude or a coda, the five minutes a cappella by Joe McPhee on the tenor saxophone placed here in thirteenth position, sound like a song of love and hope coloured utopia which condenses the invisibility of lives which are here and then are no longer here.
from the effervescence of an aviary where chirpings and warbling intersect (from Raphael Imbert, Urs Leimgruber, McPhee, Evan Parker and John Tchicai each sax seeming to seek its place in the mosaic puzzle of the memory) to promising flighty duels, then to a fine line drawn trio - of shivering brass (Cappozo), woody reed (Kassap) and simmering percussion (Rollet) - progressively repeating - pounding towards an exacerbation of a growling or a gentle explosion, a prelude to a dance of words like as many sparks (Dalachinsky) roped together con arco and solemn pizzicatos (Léandres, Phillips). Thundering alternations of the funeral echoes of the talking drums of Ramon Lopez and the deep melodies of a Portal who from 1976 (in Chateauvallon) paid homage to aylerian Angels - placed here, the trio of the basque musician with Lopez and Phillips seems to preface the outburst of husky lyricism of his instrumental counterpart (Avenel-Mcphee-Goubert ), then, as if to underline McPhee's multi-instrumental expertise, the latter was to engage with Cappozzo in a gay dialogue of trumpeters, a mixture of muffled pistons, effects of breathing and brass tirades with scents of a mini-fanfare. Logically it's a sort of "duo" that follows: a dialogue with himself, by the saxophonist Evan Parker by means of the virtuosity of circular breathing permitting as always this fascinating diphonism. As for the penultimate phases of this polyphonic hirsutism, fortified by explosions, whirlwinds, chants, howls, bubblings and very high pitched sounds, everything happens as if the last cry recalled, as in a trance, a certain aylerien spirit - did not Robert Schumann write "Music is what permits us to speak with the heavens". Philippe Carles, excerpt from the liner notes

Jean-Jacques Avenel: double bass
Jacqueline Caux: spoken words
Jean-Luc Cappozzo: trumpet, flugelhorn
Steve Dalachinsky: spoken words
Simon Goubert: drums
Raphaël Imbert: saxophones
Sylvain Kassap: clarinets
Joëlle Léandre: double bass, vocals
Urs Leimgruber: soprano saxophone
Didier Levallet: double bass
Ramon Lopez: drums
Joe McPhee: tenor saxophone, flugelhorn
Evan Parker: saxophones
Barre Phillips: double bass
Michel Portal: bass clarinet
Lucia Recio: vocals
Christian Rollet: drums
John Tchicai: alto saxophone

1. Jacqueline Caux (3:57)
2. Raphaël Imbert, Urs Leimgruber, Joe McPhee, Evan P (5:49)
3. Jean-Luc Cappozzo, Sylvain Kassap, Christian Rolle (4:37)
4. Steve Dalachinsky, Joëlle Léandre, Barre Phillips (7:41)
5. Ramon Lopez (3:13)
6. Ramon Lopez, Barre Phillips, Michel Portal (4:10)
7. Jean-Jacques Avenel, Simon Gobert, Joe McPhee (3:23)
8. Jean-Luc Cappozzo, Joe McPhee (3:49)
9. Evan Parker (3:44)
10. Joëlle Léandre, Urs Leimgruber, John Tchicai (6:44)
11. Simon Goubert, Raphaël Imbert, Sylvain Kassap, Did (5:31)
12. Joëlle Léandre, Urs Leimgruber, Lucia Recio (6:40)
13. Joe McPhee (5:13)

total time - 64:26
wydano: 2012
nagrano: Recorded on December 2nd 2010 at Fondation Cartier, Paris, France by Jean-Marc Foussat
more info:



Rogue ART (FR)
Różni Wykonawcy
13 Miniatures For Albert Ayler
chat Komentarze (0)
Na razie nie dodano żadnej recenzji.