With John Lewis, Percy Heath, Kenny Clarke, Lou Donaldson and the Thelonious Monk Quintet [Vinyl 1LP]

  • Kod: JD120
  • Producent: Jeanne Dielman
  • Wykonawca: Milt Jackson
  • Nośnik: Vinyl 1LP
  • Instrument lidera: vibes
  • Cena: 89,99 zł
  • Poleć produkt

Straightahead / Mainstream Jazz
premiera polska:
kontynent: Ameryka Północna
kraj: USA
opakowanie: kartonowe etui

Editor's info:
Jeanne Dielman present a reissue of a compilation of recordings Milt Jackson made with The Modern Jazz Quartet (with Lou Donaldson on saxophone) and The Thelonious Monk Quartet from 1948-1952, originally released in 1955. This release highlights the bebop brilliance of vibraphonist master Jackson. Inspired by Lionel Hampton, Jackson took up the vibes at age 16 and was performing in Dizzy Gillespie's group by age 22. It was in Gillespie's group that the foundations of one of the most well-known and best-selling jazz groups, The Modern Jazz Quartet, were laid in the ground. That group, who recorded countless albums, first recorded in 1952, and these are some of their earliest recordings. Essential music from a jazz master, accompanied by some of the brightest artists in jazz history.

Milt Jackson: vibe
John Lewis: piano
Percy Heath: bass
Kenny Clarke: drums
Lou Donaldson: saxophone
The Thelonious Monk Quintet

A1. Lillie
A2. Tahiti
A3. What's New
A4. Bags' Groove
A5. On The Scene
A6. Willow Weep For Me

B1. Criss Cross
B2. Eronel
B3. Mysterioso (Alternate Master)
B4. Evidence
B5. Lillie (Alternate Master)
B6. Four In One (Alternate Master)

wydano: 2016-12-05
nagrano: Recorded at the Apex Studios, NYC, on July 2, 1948 (tracks B3, B4), at the WOR Studios, NYC, on July 23, 1951 (tracks A6, B1, B2, B6) and on April 7, 1952 (tracks A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, B5)

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

partner wydawnictwa: