Starcross Bridge

  • Kod: OGY754
  • Producent: HatART (Swiss)
  • Wykonawca: Mike Westbrook
  • Nośnik: CD
  • Instrument lidera: piano
  • Cena: 62,99 zł
  • Poleć produkt

Avant Jazz / Współczesna Kameralistyka/Avant-Garde
premiera polska:
kontynent: Europa
kraj: Szwajcaria
opakowanie: kartonowe etui

Editor's info:
This album is rooted in the personal. Mike Westbrook’s enduring creative partnership with his wife, the singer, lyricist and painter Kate Westbrook is represented by two songs they wrote together. Starcross is a rail station nearby the Westbrook home in Devon, near Plymouth where his creative life began all those years ago. His title track is dedicated to the tenor saxophonist Lou Gare, whose death in 2017 was a particular wrench. Starcross Bridge is an intricately woven network of musical and personal references. Born in High Wycombe in 1936, Mike Westbrook grew up in Torquay and was educated at Kelly College, Tavistock. He formed his first band while studying painting in Plymouth in 1958, moving to London in the early 1960s. He has led and composed for a succession of groups, notably his 1960s Sextet and Concert Band, his Brass Band, formed in the mid 70s, the jazz rock group Solid Gold Cadillac and the Mike Westbrook Orchestra. He has toured extensively throughout Europe, and as far afield as Australia and the Far East, Canada and New York. He has directed performances of his work with big bands in Norway, Sweden, Finland, Germany, France, Italy, Slovenia, Switzerland and Australia. He has broadcast on radio and TV in many countries, and made over 50 albums.

Mike Westbrook: piano solo

1. Chapter One - S. Crossman: My Song Is Love Unknown 1:13
2. Chapter One - M. Westbrook: Starcross Bridge 3:37
3. Chapter One - Th. Monk: 'Round Midnight 6:04
4. Chapter One - Lennon/McCartney: Because 4:19
5. Chapter One - Kate & M. Westbrook: Brazilian Love Songs 3:50
6. Chapter One - Billy Strayhorn: Johnny Come Lately 6:47
7. Chapter One - Th. Monk: Monk's Mood 3:11
8. Chapter Two - Ellington: I Got It Bad - And That Ain't Good 3:19
9. Chapter Two - M. Westbrook: View From The Drawbridge 9:55
10. Chapter Two - Thom Bell/Linda Creed: You Make Me Feel Brand New 6:03
11. Chapter Two - M. Westbrook: If Thou Must Love Me 1:08
12. Chapter Three - M. Westbrook: Blues For Terenzi 2:45
13. Chapter Three - Kate & M. Westbrook: Rooster Rabelais 6:04
14. Postscript - G. Rossini: L'Amoroso E Sincero Lindoro 3:52

total time - 62:14
wydano: 8/24/2018
nagrano: Recorded At 19 Rue Paul Fort, Paris, on December 1st & 2nd 2017.

more info: www.hathut.com

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

partner wydawnictwa: