The Complete Jazz Guitar [Bonus Tracks]

  • Код: EJC55494
  • Производитель: Essential Jazz Classics
  • Код производителя: 8436028697779
  • Цена: 36.99 zł
  • Порекомендовать продукт

premiera polska:
kontynent: Ameryka Północna
kraj: USA
opakowanie: plastikowe etui

Editor's info:
The music on "Jazz Guitar" has travelled a long way since its original recording. The first LP edition contained ten of the eleven tunes originally taped, including "This is Always" while omitting "Too Close for Comfort", which was later issued on a compilation album of various artists. However, the second LP edition had only nine tunes ("This is Always" was omitted) and presented edited versions of many tracks (mainly editing out piano or bass solos). A later release of this music, transformed the trio into a quartet, dubbing a drums track by Larry Bunker over the original music. Finally, a 1988 CD reissue presented the original trio versions once again (in their edited form), adding "Too Close for Comfort" but, again, omitting "This is Always". This CD includes all of the tunes recorded on this session in their original unedited form for the first time including the long forgotten "This is Always", in its original trio version and adding "Too Close for Comfort". As a bonus to this outstanding album, we have added four interesting tunes featuring Hall with pianist and composer John Lewis: a 1957 duet and three 1960 quartet recordings.

Note: All previous releases of this album presented abridged versions of some tunes and most omitted "This is Always". This edition presents the integral session with complete tunes for the first time ever. No alternate take for "Things Ain't What They Used to Be" exists. The second version issued on previous releases was this same master take in edited form.

Jim Hall, guitar.
Carl Perkins, piano.
Red Mitchell, bass.
Los Angeles, January 10 & 24, 1957

Bonus Tracks:
12: Jim Hall (g), John Lewis (p).
Massachusetts, August 24, 1957.

13-15: Jim Hall (g), John Lewis (p), George Duvivier (b), Connie Kay (d).
New York, July 29, 1960.

16: Jim Hall (g), John Lewis (p), Percy Heath (b).
Los Angeles, February 10, 1956.

1. Stompin' At The Savoy 4:04
2. Things Ain't What They Used To Be 5:48
3. This Is Always 2:49
4. Thanks For The Memory 5:14
5. Tangerine 3:54
6. Stella By Starlight 3:11
7. 9:20 Special 5:40
8. Deep In A Dream 4:30
9. Look For The Silver Lining 3:13
10. Seven Come Eleven 3:52
11. Too Close For Comfort 4:25
12. Two Lyric Pieces: Pierrot/Colombine * 10:58
13. I Remember Clifford * 3:27
14. Two Degrees East, Two Degrees West * 5:35
15. I Should Care * 4:50
16. Skylark * 3:08

total time - 79:14
more info: www.disconforme.com

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

partner wydawnictwa: