Claudio Monteverdi: Vespri Solenni di San Marco [CD+DVD Video]

  • Код: OP30557
  • Производитель: Naive (FR)
  • Код производителя: 0709861305575
  • Цена: 57.99 zł
  • Порекомендовать продукт

Muzyka Barokowa
premiera polska:
kontynent: Europa
kraj: Włochy
opakowanie: plastikowe etui

Najnowsza płyta Rinaldo Alessandriniego to niezwykła, pomysłowa rekonstrukcja nieszporów weneckich na dzień św. Marka Claudio Monteverdiego z wykorzystaniem fragmentów innego dzieła tego kompozytora - mianowicie "Selva Morale e Spirituale". Psalmy, pieśni i Magnificat pochodzą właśnie z tego zbioru, natomiast powtarzające się antyfony Alessandrini zastąpił motetami pochodzącymi z okresu, gdy Monteverdi przebywał w Wenecji (publikowane około roku 1613). "Selva Morale..." to zbiór dzieł liturgicznych opublikowany około roku 1640, odzwierciedlający nowoczesny - jak na tamten czas - styl kompozycji Monteverdiego. Charakteryzowały go małe grupy solowych głosów, którym towarzyszyły instrumenty.

I w tym duchu nagrywa te kompozycje włoski klawesynista i dyrygent, od lat specjalizujący się w muzyce baroku. Wykorzystuje pojedynczą obsadę wokalną oraz minimalistyczny skład instrumentalny - dwoje skrzypiec, dwa kornety, violę da gamba, kontrabas, cztery barokowe puzony, archilutnię, dwa teorbany oraz organy. Nagranie zostało niezwykle starannie zrealizowane w zabytkowej przestrzeni - bazylice Santa Barbara w Mantui.

Imaginative reconstruction using music from Monteverdi's Selva Morale

This new disc on Naive from Concerto Italiano and Rinaldo Alessandrini creates a possible Vespers service for the Feast of Saint Mark at the Basilica of St Mark in Venice, using material published by Claudio Monteverdi during his time there. The Psalms, Hymn and Magnificat come from the Selva Morale. The repeats of the antiphons are replaced by motets by Monteverdi and instrumental sonatas, whilst the antiphons themselves are taken from the liturgy in use in St Mark's at the time.

Monteverdi's Selva morale e spirituale was a large collection of liturgical works published in 1640, anthologising the music which Monteverdi had written for St. Mark's since 1613 and reflecting the high standard of music at the Basilica under Monteverdi. The style of the pieces is mainly the modern style (small groups of solo voices accompanied by instruments), reflecting Monteverdi's brief when he joined to modernise and reform the choir and expand the instrumental ensemble.

On this disc Alessandrini assembles the psalm settings from the Selva Morale to create Vespers for St Mark's patronal feast, always an important occasion. The best known amongst these is the well known Beatus Vir, but the other psalm settings Dixit Dominus, Confitebor tibi domine, Laudate pueri, Laudate dominum are just as engaging, and they perform the Magnificat Primo a 8 with their own completion of the missing alto and bass parts in the second choir.

For major feasts, the antiphons before each psalm were repeated afterwards and in the 17th century these repeats were commonly replaced by music, which is what is done here (and which Monteverdi's seems to have done in his Vespers of 1610). Alessandrini uses a mixture of instrumental music by Gabrieli, Usper and Buonamente, plus motets by Monteverdi, Christe adoramus te and Cantate Domino.

The disc was recorded in the Basilica Santa Barbara in Mantua (where Monteverdi's Vespers of 1610 was probably written to be performed). Alessandrini uses one singer to a part, taking the singers from an ensemble of eight altogether. The instrumental forces are similarly small, with 2 violins, two cornets, viola da gamba, violine, four sackbuts, archlute, two theorbos and organ.

Alessandrini keeping the music fluid and fluent. What is noticeable about the performance is the lightness of the textures and the transparency, this is not massive music, though there are occasions of massiveness. In his CD booklet, Alessandrini talks about Monteverdi moving away from the idea of a static expression of the Divinity to one which showed God and his church triumphing through splendour and abundance, witness the extrovert and virtuoso passages. The singers combine superb consort singing with a spectacular grasp of the more bravura virtuoso moments.

This is a highly engaging and intelligent disc. As always, Alessandrini and his forces combine superb musicianship with musicology and a sense of engagement which makes listening to the recording a great pleasure. It is lovely to see the music performed in context, rather than as a solid block. You do not have to follow the Vespers service, you can simply put the CD in the player and sit back, but this is the sort of music making where intelligent engagement helps.

The box set also comes with a DVD, The Human and the Divine about the recording of the disc the Basilica of Santa Barbara in Mantua. The film, lasting just under an hour, includes footage of Alessandrini talking about the music, performances in the Basilica including a complete performance of the Magnificat and other scenes such as trying out some 17th century food whilst talking about Monteverdi and his music. There is also footage of Alessandrini wandering around Mantua and the surviving elements of the Gonzaga Ducal Palace to the sound of Monteverdi's music, all very atmospheric but also rather a lovely way to see the city.

The disc represents not only a celebration of Concerto Italiano's 30th anniversary but the first volume of Alessandrini's planned complete recording of Monteverdi's Selva Morale. Personally I can think of no better celebration, and cannot wait for the next volume.
author: Robert Hugill

Concerto Italiano
Ronaldo Alessandrini

1. Claudio Monteverdi: Vespro della Beata Vergine, "composti sopra canti fermi", Deus in adiutorium - Domine ad adiuvandum me festina
2. Claudio Monteverdi: Egregius christi petrus apostolus,
3. Claudio Monteverdi: Selva morale e spirituale, Dixit Dominus II
4. Giovanni Gabrieli: Canzoni et sonate (1615), Canzoni et sonate: Canzon No. 8
5. Claudio Monteverdi: Doctrinam apostolicam evangeliste marco committens,
6. Claudio Monteverdi: Selva morale e spirituale, Confitebor tibi Domine II
7. Claudio Monteverdi: Christe adoramus te,
8. Claudio Monteverdi: Ad hec disponente dei gratia,
9. Claudio Monteverdi: Selva morale e spirituale, Beatus vir I
10. Francesco Usper: Compositioni armoniche, Op. 3: Sonata in loco antiphonae: Sonata a 8,
11. Claudio Monteverdi: Beate sancte marce,
12. Claudio Monteverdi: Selva morale e spirituale, Laudate pueri Dominum I
13. Claudio Monteverdi: Cantate Domino canticum novum,
14. Claudio Monteverdi: Sancte evangelista Marce,
15. Claudio Monteverdi: Selva morale e spirituale, Laudate Dominum omnes gentes II
16. Giovanni Battista Buonamente: Sonata et Canzoni, Book 6: Sonata a 6,
17. Claudio Monteverdi: Athleta christi belliger,
18. Claudio Monteverdi: Pulchra facie et alacri vultu - Deprecare, pastor bone,
19. Claudio Monteverdi: Post angelicam allocutionem,
20. Claudio Monteverdi: Selva morale e spirituale: Magnificat I (completed by R. Alessandrini),

1. L'umano E Il Suo Divino (Alessandrini Dirige Monteverdi) (Ein Film Von Claudio Rufa)

wydano: 2014
more info: www.naive.fr

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

partner wydawnictwa: