Waves of Anzac The Journey [Vinyl 1LP]

  • Code: CDSTUMM448
  • Manufacturer: Mute Record Limited
  • Price: 54.99 zł
  • Tell a friend

Indie Pop / Avant Pop / Muzyka alternatywna
premiera polska:
opakowanie: kartonowe etui

Editor's Info:
Former long-time Bad Seed and composer Mick Harvey returns to soundtracking with Waves of Anzac / The Journey, out on long-time label home Mute. Composed for two programs dealing with displacement and loss, Waves of Anzac / The Journey finds Harvey reapplying his chops as an arranger, as both scores swell with buoyant string sections and an overall romantic compositional sensibility.

Waves of ANZAC is represented by 13 tracks selected from the score for the ABC documentary presented by the actor Sam Neill (Jurassic Park, The Piano) ‘Why ANZAC? with Sam Neill’ (Dir. Kriv Stenders, 2015) is named for the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC) who served together in the Gallipoli Campaign, their first engagement in World War I and continued as a military unit until after WW2. The film is a look at this pivotal point in our shared history, and the impact it still has on a personal and on a geopolitical level. Harvey recently examined this period via the prism of a fictional soldier/poet for his collaboration with Christopher Richard Barker, The Fall and Rise of Edgar Bourchier and the Horrors of War.

The Journey is a four-part composition, recorded with The Letter String Quartet, in support of people seeking asylum who have found themselves in Australia’s offshore detention program. The piece was composed as a study of the hardships endured by the detainees on Nauru, Manus Island and Christmas Island before and during their internment and as an expression of hope for a humane outcome to their plight.

The digital version of the album includes pieces from two short films, Iron Spyder (Dir. Yoav Lester, Christopher H.F. Mitchell/2016) and The Last Time I Saw You (Dir. Damian McLindon/2018)

String section – Bronwyn Henderson (violin), Lizzy Welsh (violin), Biddy Connor (Viola), Julitha Ryan (Cello) *except ‘The Lovells’ and ‘Back at Kiatora’.
Rosie Westbrook – Double Bass on ‘The Somme’
Bronwyn Henderson – featured violin on ‘Turkish Theme’ and ‘Return to ANZAC Cove’
All other instruments by Mick Harvey.

THE JOURNEY – with The Letter String Quartet
The Letter String Quartet: Steph O’Hara (Violin), Lizzy Welsh (violin), Biddy Connor (viola), Zoë Barry (Cello)
Mick Harvey – Piano, Organ and Percussion

1. Turkish Theme
2. Waves of ANZAC
3. First Anniversary
4. The Somme
5. Archives
6. Poppies
7. The Lovells
8. The Cemetery
9. Modern War
10. Vietnam
11. Crete
12. Back at Kiatora
13. Return to ANZAC Cove
14. THE JOURNEY – with The Letter String Quartet - Part 1: Conflict
15. THE JOURNEY – with The Letter String Quartet - Part 2: All at Sea
16. THE JOURNEY – with The Letter String Quartet - Part 3: Capture (Not Real Refugees)
17. THE JOURNEY – with The Letter String Quartet - Part 4: Hope

total time - 58:16
wydano: 2020-04-17
more info:
more info2:

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

partner wydawnictwa: