Josef Antonín Sehling: Christmas in Prague Cathedral

  • Code: SU41742
  • Manufacturer: Supraphon a.s. (CZ)
  • Price: 62.99 zł
  • Tell a friend

Muzyka Barokowa
premiera polska:
kontynent: Europa
opakowanie: plastikowe etui

Editor's info:
Precious few countries can boast of a Christmas repertoire as ample and colourful as that possessed by the Czech Republic. The Baroque era imbued the texts of songs with enchanting, tender poetics - with awestruck yet perplexed shepherds enthusing about the beautiful infant Jesus. Later on, a growing number of formally more complex pieces (pastorales) were written, most of them taking the form of arias or duets with instrumental accompaniment. A notable composer in this respect was Josef Antonín Sehling. Although still anchored in the Baroque world, he paved the way for the accession of a new musical style. He studied in Vienna and subsequently worked in Prague as a member of Count Václav Morzin's renowned orchestra and as second violin at Saint Vitus Cathedral, although standing in as Kapellmeister over the long term (an interesting parallel can be drawn with Zelenka, the "counter-bassist" at the court orchestra in Dresden). Sehling was Kapellmeister of several Prague churches, including the Church of Our Lady under the Chain, where the present world premiere recording was made. The album features pieces intended for the period from Advent to Epiphany.

Sehling's music contains the magic of Michna's songs yet concurrently opens upon a world familiar from Ryba's Christmas Mass...

Hana Blazikova
Marketa Cukrova
Tomas Kral
Collegium Marianum
Jana Semerádová

1. Rorate Primo
2. Aria per Adventu Domini "Donner und Hagel"
3. Rorate Secondo
4. Motetto per la Nativita di Nostro Signore "Deponite metum"
1. Chorus "Deponite metum"
2. Recitativo "In Betlehem", Aria "Qui sidera movet"
3. Chorus "Alleluja"
5. Duetto "Vis ingens est favori"
6. Motetto per la Nativita di Nostro Signore "Dormi nate, mi mellite"
7. Sonata pastorale a tre, KV 397
1. Adagio
2. Un poco allegro
8. Pastorella "Eja, laeti properemus"
9. Pastorella "Eja, surgite pastores"
10. Pastorella "Non sic cervus ad fluentem"
11. Aria per ogni festivita "Vos stellae preclarae"
12. Pastorella "Dormi, tenellule"
13. Offertorium de Sanctis Tribus Regis "Ecce magi veniunt":
* "Ecce magi veniunt"
* Recitativo "Venite adoremus", Arioso "Ego Casparus"
* Chorus "Psallite Deo nostro"

wydano: 2014
more info:

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

partner wydawnictwa: