New Jazz Conceptions

  • Code: FSST02
  • Manufacturer: FIFTY SECOND STREET
  • Manufacturer's code: 8436019586143
  • Price: 48.99 zł
  • Tell a friend

Pianistyka Jazzowa
premiera polska:
kontynent: Ameryka Północna
kraj: USA
opakowanie: digipackowe etui

Editor's info:
This groundbreaking recording was the first to feature then-unknown Bill Evans as a leader, and it also introduced a trio format of piano, bass, and drums, which would become Evans's standard format for playing and recording. NEW JAZZ CONCEPTIONS, recorded when Evans was just 26, merges his articulate, vigorous playing with the music of fellow Tony Scott Quartet musicians Teddy Kotick on bass and the extroverted Paul Motian on drums. The album's four original compositions include "Five," a witty, complicated song which makes clever use of the chords from "I Got Rhythm," and the disjointed, slightly off-kilter "Displacement," a study in a common Evans theme of playing against the meter and around the beat of a composition. The most remarkable material is the wonderfully eloquent piano solo, "Waltz for Debby," written for Evans's niece, which became perhaps the most renowned classic of his musical career.

Tracks 1-12:
Bill Evans: piano
Teddy Kotick: bass
Paul Motian: drums

Tracks 13-15:
Bill Evans: piano
Dick Garcia: guitar
Jerry Bruno: bass
Camille Morin: drums

Tracks 16-18:
Bill Evans: piano
eddie Costa: vibes
Joe Puma: guitar
Oscar Pettiford: bass
Paul Motian: drums

1. I Love You
2. Five
3. Conception
4. Easy Living
5. Displacement
6. Speak Low
7. Our Delight
8. No Cover, No Minimum
9. I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good
10. Waltz For Debby
11. My Romance
12. No Cover, No Minimum [Alternate Version]
13. Kimona My House
14. Like Someone In Love
15. Ev'ry Night About This Time
16. I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good
17. Mother Of Earl
18. Indian Summer

total time - 77:56
wydano: 2009-04
more info:

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

partner wydawnictwa: