• Schlüssel: THRILL050
  • den Hersteller: Thrill Jockey Records (USA)
  • Preis: 49,99 zł
  • Produkt empfehlen

premiera polska:
kontynent: Ameryka Północna
kraj: USA
opakowanie: plastikowe etui
Editor's Info
Tortoise's third full-length release, TNT, was written and recorded during a 10-month interval in 1997. This longer-than-usual writing/production schedule was purposefully undertaken by the group in the hopes of crafting an expansive, diverse, yet thematically coherent offering. Clocking in at 65 minutes, it is certainly the most substantial Tortoise offering to date.

TNT builds upon the spare, instrumental framework of the group's first, self-titled album, and the extended edits, melodic adventures, and klangfarben of the subsequent full-length release, Millions Now Living Will Never Die. Further to this, Tortoise's interest in the possibilities offered by the remixing of tracks was realized within the actual production of TNT; individual elements, sections, or sometimes whole compositions mutate within the album's shifting framework. These techniques were suitably realized thanks in part to the use of non-linear digital recording and editing methods, the first example of such work for the group. In addition, many of the arrangements push the group's standard instrumentation into new territories with the inclusion of strings, woodwinds, and brass. The permanent addition of guitarist Jeff Parker (New Horizons ensemble, Chicago Underground Orchestra, Isotope 217) to the group's lineup should be noted; his unique contributions can be felt throughout the album.

Tortoise's long-standing interest in electronic and computer music is revealed during the unbroken suite of tracks beginning with "In Sarah, Mencken, Christ, and Beethoven There Were Women And Men," and ending with "Jetty." Yet TNT remains very much a record produced by a group of musicians who enjoy presenting their material in a live context. To this end, the axis of drums-basses-guitars-keyb oards-mallets-percussion continues to provide both the backdrop and the inspiration for points of departure in style and sound. For

Dan Bitney: Bass, Guitar, Percussion, Vibes, Marimba, Keyboards, Baritone Saxophone
John Herndon: Drums, Vibes, Keyboards, Sequencing
Douglas McCombs: Bass, Bass 6, Guitar, Lap Steel
John McEntire: Drums, Modular Synthesizer, Ring Modulator Guitar, Electric Harpsichord, Keyboards
Jeff Parker: Guitar, Bass
Dave Pajo: Guitar, Bass

01 TNT
02 Swung From The Gutters
03 Ten-Day Interval
04 I Set My Face To The Hillside
05 The Equator
06 A Simple Way To Go Faster Than Light That Does Not Work
07 The Suspension Bridge At Iguazú Falls
08 Four-Day Interval
09 In Sarah, Mencken, Christ And Beethoven There Were Women And Men
10 Almost Always Is Nearly Enough
11 Jetty
12 Everglade

wydano: 1998
more info: www.thrilljockey.com

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

partner wydawnictwa: