Mr. Rhythm is Movin! 1955-1960 Fortune Recordings

  • Kod: 263394
  • Producent: Hoo Doo Records
  • Kod producenta: 8436028698165
  • Wykonawca: Andre Williams
  • Nośnik: CD
  • Instrument lidera: vocals
  • Cena: 41,99 zł
  • Poleć produkt

premiera polska:
opakowanie: plastikowe etui

Editor's info:
Detroit and Chicago musical legend Andre Williams has been singin' and livin' rhythm & blues since the mid '50s when he had his first hit, "Bacon Fat". With the dirtiest voice around, Williams established himself as the king of the greasiest R&B.

This quintessential collection gathers a variety of the great R&B recordings and hard to find early sides he made for the Fortune label between 1955 and 1960. Backed by The Don Juans or The Five Dollars, Williams can be heard here ripping through his most famous songs.

Mr. Rhythm, as he was also known, was rapping in his laid-back hipster style long before there was rap - he was the consummate ultra-cool sharp-dressed slick and sleazy soulman. Williams has always been at his best when playing ludicrous rump-shaking grooves about food or foul-mouthed funk, spending much of the his later years writing chart toppers for the likes of Stevie Wonder, Mary Wells, Funkadelic, Parliament and Ike and Tina Turner, to name just a few.

Andre Williams: lead vocals
Eddie Hurt, Herman Duffy, Gino Parks: tenor vocals
Lonnie Heard, Steve Gaston: second tenor vocals
James Drayton, Bobby Calhoun: baritone vocals
Charles Evans, Jay Johnson: bass vocals
Arnold Oliver, Richard Lawrence: guitar
The Joe Weaver Orchestra
The Charlie Morris Orchestra
The Walter Combo

1. Goin' Down To Tia Juana 3:01
2. I Still Love You 2:33
3. (Mmmm... Andre Williams Is) Movin' - Part 1 2:50
4. (Georgia May Is) Movin' - Part 2 3:21
5. Bacon Fat 3:04
6. Is It True? 2:13
7. Don't Touch 2:20
8. Mozelle 3:16
9. Mean Jean 2:41
10. Just Want A Little Lovin' 2:46
11. My Tears 3:00
12. Hey, Country Girl 2:11
13. Come On Baby 3:40
14. Tossin' & Turnin' 3:26
15. Jail Bait 3:25
16. The Greasy Chicken 3:10
17. Pass The Biscuits, Please 3:21
18. Jailhouse Blues 2:17
19. Just Because 2:47
20. Put A Chain On It 2:50
21. My Last Dance With You 2:55
22. Bobby Jean 2:42
23. Pulling Time 2:54
24. Just Because Of A Kiss 3:11
25. I'll Do It All For You 2:28
26. I Wanna Know Why 4:31
27. You Are My Sunshine 2:38

total time - 79:31
wydano: 2011-05-10

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

Obrazek 1

partner wydawnictwa: